2 Comments

Winter Blues


“It’s snowing still,” said Eeyore gloomily.
“So it is.”
“And freezing.”
“Is it?”
“Yes,” said Eeyore. “However,” he said, brightening up a little, “we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”

~A. A. Milne

The holidays are over without another vacation coming until the end of May, the coldest of the winter weather is settling in freezing the very blood that slushes through frosted veins, the gym is packed with the New Years resolutionists ensuring the regulars have to fight to even touch the equipment such that the body cools down while waiting a turn and questioning eyes peer while sets are being counted off, the days are still short ensuring arrival and departure from work is under cover of darkness, snow falls rendering streets nearly impassable pushing drive times to twice or thrice normal, it’s too cold to hop on the bicycle for a two to three hour mind relaxing ride, motorcycle rides result in icicles dripping from exposed skin, when the sun does shine it only serves to remind of those long off days when shorts and t-shirts are worn outside without fear of losing a limb to frostbite.

Luckily, I have an adventure called work to keep my mind from becoming numb in the long nights of winter. I have an job that utilizes my talents, that pushes me to develop my skills, that challenges me to learn and create and improvise, that requires me to focus on building up others, that keeps my mind occupied from the instant I open my eyes and consciousness subdues slumber to the moment I close them for the night and I am transported by dream to exotic lands filled with warm days, colorful people, star filled nights.

Perhaps one day I will awake from that dream to find myself living in that dream, the dream that is a dream yet not a dream. Perhaps one day I will open my eyes for the 365th consecutive day to the warmth of the early morning sun rising orange over a turquoise ocean with waves gently brushing the seashore while birds roosting in verdant trees raise their voice en masse and the heat of the sun laps my skin until it is a light pink. Perhaps one day I will never again have the winter blues.

2 comments on “Winter Blues

  1. I think the admin of this web page is actually working hard in support of
    his web page, since here every data is quality based stuff.

  2. What i don’t realize is in reality how you’re now
    not actually much more neatly-liked than you may be now.
    You’re so intelligent. You already know thus considerably relating to this topic, produced me in my view imagine it from numerous varied angles.
    Its like men and women are not interested
    except it’s one thing to do with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs nice.
    All the time maintain it up!

Leave a Reply

she's a seeker

Currently, Nepal.

Inside my cellar

Watch closely as an author thoughts unveil truths through a vision that was once mere premonition. Thoughts From A balcony inside the minds of the intuitive

STREET x SPREZZA

Vintage Style and Modern Tailoring

WolffPoetry.com, Poetry, Publishing Resources & Writing Tools

Wolff Poetry is a free resource that offers poetry writings, publishing and writing resources for poets, and writers, and poetic writings of Linda J. Wolff

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Srijana Kattel

Ramblings of an empty mind

Travelling around the world

Traveller, photography

ishanlin.wordpress.com/

All images © I-Shan Lin

TESSEROLOGY

A MOSAIC OF BITS AND PIECES ON TRAVEL, LIFE AND TIMES

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Virtual Vomit

Sometimes its easier than others

Lipstick on a Pig

The Sartorial Explorations of a Middle Aged Man

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

My Human Experience

Life. Travel. Tarot. Astrology.

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

