Leave a comment

India: A Very Long Day


Do you know what the three most exciting sounds in the world are? Anchor chains, plane motors, and train whistles. ~Jimmy Stewart, Its a Wonderful Life

In the movie, It’s a Wonderful Life, Jimmy Stewart equates happiness with travel (or it may be a metaphor for escaping a life he finds wanting but I’m not here to psychoanalyze the character in the movie.)

I just spent 24 hours getting from my home in Chicago to Pune India and can attest that travel that long travel by airplane in cattle class is anything but exciting. The first leg of my flight was 16 hours, 16 long hours in a tiny little seat in which sleep was difficult to encounter. I may have gotten a few hours but can’t really tell because it was fitful at best. Following a four hour layover, another 2 hour flight, then a 20 minute cab ride to my hotel, I was exhausted. The best way I can describe the past 24 hours is grueling.

Still, my workmate and I headed to the top of the hotel for a nightcap and some ice cream. I had butterscotch which was very tasty. Finally, a shower and some much needed shut eye.

It has been more than 5 years since I last visited Pune, India, 5 years since I last relaxed near the pool on the top of Le Meridien hotel, five years since I last have been treated like royalty by a hyper attentive wait staff, 5 years since I lasted inhaled the aromas of the delicious food at this hotel.

This afternoon I will meet up with Inayat, an old friend, the first friend I made from India, the longest lasting friend I have had in India. He is quick to smile and a gracious host. For me, he embodies all the good qualities of the Indian people. I expect a most agreeable beginning to this two week business trip before the grueling trip back home.

Leave a Reply

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Virtual Vomit

Sometimes its easier than others

This is all a fiction

Fiction and Musings

Lipstick on a Pig

The Sartorial Explorations of a Middle Aged Man

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

Dipa Singapuri

Tarot Tales from Tokyo

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

elisa ruland

All you need is love...and travel.

HHC Blog

Writings, Photographing, thinking back...

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

A Birder´s Blog

"Everybody loves what they know"

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

Quantum Awareness

Are Buddhism and Quantum Mechanics saying the same thing in different languages? Let's finally bring the two together and have an enlightening discussion.

