3 Comments

How Will You Measure Your Life?


I believe that I am not responsible for the meaningfulness or meaninglessness of life, but that I am responsible for what I do with the life I’ve got. ~Hermann Hesse

There will come a time in life when we are played out, when we have left all of our energy on the playing field and hang up our cleats for the final time, when we lay on our deathbed replaying the movie of our life on eyelids that struggle to stay open for, we fear, if they close they will never again be amazed at the sight of our loved ones. With those last gasping, shallow breaths sucking air into our lungs, very few things will matter. In those last moments before we meet our maker, ‘things’ will not matter. What I believe will matter is the life we made for those we were blessed to have in our lives, what will matter is they love we gave away.

There is a saying in the business world that you get what you measure. The very act of measuring gives value to the parameter being measured, gives it focus, makes it a priority, makes it happen.

If we measure our life by acquisitions, then we will acquire acquisitions. If we measure by power, then we will seek to be powerful.  If we measure by love then we will seek to give love away for love is the only thing that, when we give it away, it is returned to us in greater quantity.

If we love authentically, those closest to us are the ones to best measure the love. Those closest to us see us when we are being loving and when we are not. They have a unique window into our lives, see the real us rather than the facade we show to the world. Unlike the rest of the world, those closest to us cannot be fooled because they too are privy to the movie of our lives.

The people closest to me in this world are my children. They have seen me in every shade of life. When I die, I believe, the measurement of my life will be reflected in my children’s memories of me.

How do you measure your life?

3 comments on “How Will You Measure Your Life?

  1. I hope I can say I measure my life by what I can do for others…

  2. Well I hope you liked the old ones because you don’t seem very interested in making new ones.

Leave a Reply

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

Dipa Singapuri

Tarot Tales from Tokyo

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

elisa ruland

All you need is love...and travel.

HHC Blog

Writings, Photographing, thinking back...

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

A Birder´s Blog

"Everybody loves what they know"

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

Quantum Awareness

Are Buddhism and Quantum Mechanics saying the same thing in different languages? Let's finally bring the two together and have an enlightening discussion.

Our World In Data

Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate

The Learning Leader

Effective Leadership can only exist in a state of continuous learning.

Karmic Reaction Blog

#Arts/#Culture/#History/#Music/#Politics/#Science/#Writing

scot's artwerkz

paintings • photos • sketches

Lonely Blue Boy

The Boy Who Cries Wolf

