1 Comment

The Family Curse


But she knows she has a curse on her, a curse she cannot win. For if someone gets too close to her, the pins stick further in. ~Tim Burton

 

witchDo you believe in curses? I do. Before you think I’m a bit off nut or way off my nut, let me elucidate.

I’m not talking about a curse cast by wart nosed, green skinned hags stirring a boiling cauldron of newts noses, thorny nettles, worm hearts, snake venom, wolf toenails, bat saliva and a lock of golden hair from yonder beautiful maiden into a witches brew.

Nor am I talking about the curse that stems from the bite of a wolf the turns a meek and humble human into a malevolent werewolf that can only be satiated, and then only temporarily, by ingesting human blood when the moon is full. Nor am I talking about the curse of the wealthy that sees rich parents giving their children everything money can buy resulting in unhappy adults who don’t understand the character building that comes from working for what they want.

dna double helixI am talking about a curse binding generation to generation, a cursed passed from parent to child which cannot be prevented, a curse at the genetic level, a curse existing in the fundamental building blocks of humans, a curse carried by DNA. I have one of those curses in my bloodline.

My grandfather died of a massive heart attack in his 40s. His son, my dad, underwent a quadruple bypass in his 50s. By linear extrapolation (it’s an Engineer thing) I figured I was safe from heart disease until I was well into my 60s. I found out today that I was wrong, luckily not dead wrong.

Over the past couple of months, I have been short of breath when walking around. I had an EKG in February to rule out heart disease which came out normal. So, I chalked the breathing problems up to the lingering affects from the bad case of bronchitis I had at the close of the year and my recent propensity for asthma. When I received the all clear from my asthma doctor and the breathing issue still did not abate, I self diagnosed this as acid reflux and took those meds still without correction.

angioplasty-400x400

Angioplasty

I recalled from years back my dad saying he was getting short of breath from walking up steps which turned out to be an indicator that he had blockages in his arteries. This had been lingering in my mind for the better part of the past two months, a stain on an otherwise optimistic disposition, an annoyance I could not shake. With two years in India just around the corner, I figured it would be intelligent to undergo a stress test to rule out once and for all that my breathing issues stemmed from heart disease so I scheduled a stress test. Truthfully, on the way to the test, I was fairly sure I would be whisked away to the ER for emergency surgery.

The results were not quite that bad still they are a cause for concern. There is definitely an abnormality  in the way the front of my heart is operating, an abnormality which indicates a possible blockage. In two days, I am returning to the Heart Dr for a consultation. On the third day (or the fourth day), I will have an angiogram. I will also possibly (most likely) have an angioplasty to address the blockage.

I am shaken, very shaken at this news. I am also thankful that I received this information before I moved half way around the world. I would hate to have had my dream of living in India tarnished by having a heart attack while living in India.

One comment on “The Family Curse

  1. There you go — you did the right thing by being proactive! And no matter what anyone says about the American health system, there’s just nowhere else I’d want to be when facing illness. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

Dipa Singapuri

Tarot Tales from Tokyo

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

elisa ruland

All you need is love...and travel.

HHC Blog

Writings, Photographing, thinking back...

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

A Birder´s Blog

"Everybody loves what they know"

When Timber Makes One Still

"Everyone needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the soul" -John Muir

Quantum Awareness

Are Buddhism and Quantum Mechanics saying the same thing in different languages? Let's finally bring the two together and have an enlightening discussion.

Our World In Data

Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate

The Learning Leader

Effective Leadership can only exist in a state of continuous learning.

Karmic Reaction Blog

#Arts/#Culture/#History/#Music/#Politics/#Science/#Writing

scot's artwerkz

paintings • photos • sketches

Lonely Blue Boy

The Boy Who Cries Wolf

