Leave a comment

I Saw Her Face In A Crowded Place


You’re beautiful. You’re beautiful.
You’re beautiful, it’s true.
I saw your face in a crowded place,
And I don’t know what to do,
‘Cause I’ll never be with you.
~James Blunt

I Saw Her Face...

I Saw Her Face…

The song “You’re Beautiful” by  James Blunt is a lovely song, a sad song, a song that eloquently speaks to the essence of humanity, a song that resonates with my hopeless romantic personality.  I’m sure anyone with a heart can identify with the sentiment of missed love, of love that might have flourished had circumstances not transpired to keep the two apart. It’s an understanding that crosses cultures, transcends time, is universal to the human connection. The poets of old wrote odes to missed love that accurately capture those same feelings in us thousands of years after they were penned.

Is this at it’s core love at first sight? Perhaps. Perhaps. I believe we were all created by God to crave connection with another human being. We were all created with a void in our soul that can only be filled on earth with another human who we fully know and feel safe to be fully known. I believe this feeling is a manifestation of that desire to be connected with another person.

Turkey (DO1)-121_Snapseed

She Had Flowers In Her Hair…

I sure everyone shares the pain of love that might have been if it only circumstances had conspired with us instead of against us.  We have all seen that person with whom we felt the connection, have all seen that face that instantly captured our heart. Perhaps it was the pretty woman seated a section below us at the theatre who we tried in vain to intercept after the concert but she never to be seen again. Was she real? An illusion? A ghost? Thanks to the fates, we will never know.

Perhaps it was that brunette goddess stopped at a traffic light, sitting in her convertible tapping her fingers to the beat of a song. Our eyes met, our hearts connected then, just as quickly, were torn apart when the light changed and unrelenting traffic like a rampaging river carried us in opposite directs, pulled us apart never to explore the connectedness that united us for an instant, for an eternity.

We all have a story of the one that got away, the story of the face that caused our heart to pause, the soul that seemed to bridge space and connect powerfully with ours, the eyes that reached into hearts only to be cruelly torn away by uncaring fate.

On A Pedestal

On A Pedestal

I have my story.

It was the 30th of April 2011. She walked into the Black Diamond Ethiopian restaurant in Chicago and instantly grabbed my attention. It may have been her lithe silhouette against the blinding light of the open door that spilled into the dark restaurant that took my breath away. It may have been the black hair that framed her beautiful face before cascading over her shoulders that caused me to be without words. It may have been the smile that slowly crept into place when she removed her sunglasses and our eyes met for the first time that forever captured my searching heart.

The eyes are one of the most powerful tools a woman has. With one look, she can relay the most intimate message. After the connection is made, words cease to exist. ~Jennifer Salaiz

One of a Thousand Expressions

One of a Thousand Expressions

Whatever it was, at that moment, I experienced a powerful attraction, a magnetism that wouldn’t allow me to divert my eyes. Was it the love at first site oft mentioned by romantics?  I don’t know. The feeling in those opening moments were a force that drew me powerfully to her. That was over two and a half years ago and I can still feel that moment like it happened just a few hours ago. That face is indelibly stamped on my mind. All I have to do is close my eyes and it appears bringing me joy.

I have stored in my memory, every contour, every line, every nuance of her countenance. And I have captured that face in hundreds of pictures showing more expressions than I believed humanly possible. I have been able to do this because, unlike the woman song, I was able to be with her, am still in a relationship with her.

Us

Us

Though we are physically separated by 8000 miles while I am in working in India, we are still connected at the heart. A connection that began when I saw her face in a crowded restaurant more than two and a half years ago. I am a happy man because I know that face will still be there when I finally return to permanent residence in the US.

Turkey (DO2)-122_Snapseed

Spice Market, Istanbul Turkey

Turkey (DO2)-121_Snapseed

Market in Istanbul, Turkey

Turkey (DO2)-108

Head Covering Required at a Mosque in Istanbul, Turkey

Turkey (DO1)-064

Turkish Coffee in Capadoccia Turkey

 

 

 

Turkey (DO1)-111_Snapseed-2

Ancient Ruins near Izmir Turkey

Turkey (DO1)-122_Snapseed

Small Town on the West Coast of Turkey

Leave a Reply

she's a seeker

Currently, Nepal.

Inside my cellar

Watch closely as an author thoughts unveil truths through a vision that was once mere premonition. Thoughts From A balcony inside the minds of the intuitive

STREET x SPREZZA

Vintage Style and Modern Tailoring

WolffPoetry.com, Poetry, Publishing Resources & Writing Tools

Wolff Poetry is a free resource that offers poetry writings, publishing and writing resources for poets, and writers, and poetic writings of Linda J. Wolff

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Srijana Kattel

Ramblings of an empty mind

Travelling around the world

Traveller, photography

ishanlin.wordpress.com/

All images © I-Shan Lin

TESSEROLOGY

A MOSAIC OF BITS AND PIECES ON TRAVEL, LIFE AND TIMES

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Virtual Vomit

Sometimes its easier than others

Lipstick on a Pig

The Sartorial Explorations of a Middle Aged Man

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

My Human Experience

Life. Travel. Tarot. Astrology.

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

