Leave a comment

Truth is Subjective


I am an excitable person who only understands life lyrically, musically, in whom feelings are much stronger as reason. ~ Anais Nin

For much of my life, I believed truth was reality. Reality existed only in logic. Truth was objective. Spock embodied my concept of god. Live long and prosper.

Over the last decade or so, especially in the past two years, I have come to understand truth is subjective. I have come to know truth is solely the domain of emotion. I have come to the realization, reality exists in each person’s emotional interpretation of art – a painting, the written word, sartorial choice, a song.

The logic of a painting is in the pigment, the canvas, the colored applied by the brush, the density directly proportional to the weight of the stroke. However, the truth of the painting is the emotion it evokes in the viewer. For one it’s love, another hate, still another indifference. The painting is the same, but my understanding is my truth. Your understanding is your truth. One image. Two truths.

The logic of a song is in the universality of the chords, the words, the voice. The truth varies with each individual, varies with each individual over time. I may hate it today, yet find I love it next week. The truth is understood when the body sways uncontrollably to the melody. The truth is when the exact same song brings tears of sadness to my blue eyes or brings joy to your tender heart.

The logic of my marriage exists in the government records stored in Las Vegas ‘proving’ the marriage exists. Marriage is an emotional ship on a raging ocean violently tossed by the crest and the trough of a surging wave. The truth of my marriage is the love my wife and I express to each other, the love we withhold from each other, the illogical choice to continue loving each other when doing so tears emotional rents in our hearts.

If I had to personify god today, it would not be Spock. I would say god is poetry. I would say the truth of my god exists in the emotions evoked by a poem. I would say god is uniquely true to each person.

Leave a Reply

she's a seeker

Currently, Nepal.

Inside my cellar

Watch closely as an author thoughts unveil truths through a vision that was once mere premonition. Thoughts From A balcony inside the minds of the intuitive

STREET x SPREZZA

Vintage Style and Modern Tailoring

WolffPoetry.com, Poetry, Publishing Resources & Writing Tools

Wolff Poetry is a free resource that offers poetry writings, publishing and writing resources for poets, and writers, and poetic writings of Linda J. Wolff

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Srijana Kattel

Ramblings of an empty mind

Travelling around the world

Traveller, photography

ishanlin.wordpress.com/

All images © I-Shan Lin

TESSEROLOGY

A MOSAIC OF BITS AND PIECES ON TRAVEL, LIFE AND TIMES

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Virtual Vomit

Sometimes its easier than others

Lipstick on a Pig

The Sartorial Explorations of a Middle Aged Man

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

My Human Experience

Life. Travel. Tarot. Astrology.

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

