Leave a comment

Books 2016


books2016

As usual, many more books made it to my to-read list than I actually read probably on the order of 5 to-reads for every 1 book read. At this rate, I will never get through all the books I read which is why I anguish some whenever I need to select my next book. I was shooting for 75 books this year and logged in at 81. I track and rate my books in Goodreads. My ratings: 5 star @3, 4 star @29, 3 star @46, 2 star @ 3.

One of my reading goals was to adventure more deeply into books not originally written in English. I ended up at 40% of my readings were books that had to be translated into English. Next year my goals is at least 50%.

There were two absolute gems this year.

A Little Life by Hanya Yanahigara a 700+ page beast telling the fictional tale of four friends beginning with their university years. It starts off a bit slow before becoming an I can’t put this down even to sleep event. Be warned, it’s a tear jerker. Everyone I have talked to that read this book cried.

Everybody Matters: The Extraordinary Power of Caring for Your People Like Family by Bob Chapman is an amazing foray into the leadership world of Bob Chapman, CEO of Barry-Wehmiller. I highlighted so many lines in this book, the pages seem to be the color of a yellow highlighter. If you are responsible for people in the work force, you need to read this book. I close with some of my favorite quotes from the book:

I’m completely obsessed with creating a culture in which all team members can realize their gifts, share those gifts, and go home each day fulfilled.

At Barry-Wehmiller, our primary purpose is crystal clear to us: We’re in business so that all our team members can have meaningful and fulfilling lives.

There is no other KPI [key performance indicator] that you can have that is greater than people saying they are happy and they are fulfilled.

The greatest gift, the greatest charity we can give back to society is to be truly human leaders who treat the people under our leadership with profound respect and care and not as objects for our success and wealth.

Never look at the people you have been given the privilege to lead as functions—receptionists or engineers or accountants. See each one as a full human being, somebody’s precious child, someone with infinite potential, whose life you have an opportunity to profoundly impact. We have a deep responsibility to be good stewards of that life.

Leave a Reply

STREET x SPREZZA

Vintage Style and Modern Tailoring

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Srijana Kattel

Ramblings of an empty mind

Travelling around the world

Traveller, photography

ishanlin.wordpress.com/

All images © I-Shan Lin

TESSEROLOGY

A MOSAIC OF BITS AND PIECES ON TRAVEL, LIFE AND TIMES

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Virtual Vomit

Sometimes its easier than others

Lipstick on a Pig

The Sartorial Explorations of a Middle Aged Man

The Used Life

Experiments in the Art of Mastering None

Dipa Singapuri

Tarot Tales from Tokyo

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

elisa ruland

All you need is love...and travel.

HHC Blog

Writings, Photographing, thinking back...

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

